Charles Rosier

Charles Rosier, an expatriate student  in Tokyo

Charles Rosier

Charles Rosier’s Japanese origins

Charles Rosier is French but his mother is of Japanese origin. His grandfather arrived in France in 1950 to work at the Japanese Embassy in Paris. In 1951, his wife joined him and in 1954, his mother Mai was born. In 1961, the small family briefly returned to Tokyo, their hometown, before returning to France in 1962.

Thirty after Charles Rosier was born. For the first ten years of his life, he was lulled by the stories of his grandparents who told him about their lives in Japan. His grandmother prepared the famous sushi and sashimi for him, while his grandfather introduced him to the game of go.

He knew by heart the origin of geishas and samurai by heart.
It is in this atmosphere that he grew up and it was only natural that he became passionate about the culture of his grandparents. He also studied Japanese language from the age of 15.

Charles Rosier’s many journeys in the Land of the Rising Sun

Charles Rosier and his mother undertook to travel regularly to Japan.
The first trips were to Tokyo, the parents’ home town of May’s parents, as the main destination. They were dazzled by the dynamism of the Japanese capital and the modern architecture. Little by little, they also learned Buddhism. This philosophy of life soothed them.

As Charles grew older, he travelled more and more alone. He fed on everything he discovered. After Tokyo, he decided to explore the rest of Japan. His first trip outside the capital was to climb Mount Fuji.
He then discovered the long Pacific coasts and the more mountainous regions with their upland cultures. Over the years, his travels became more frequent and longer.

Charles Rosier’s new life

Charles Rosier had met many people during his visits to Japan. One of them was coming off. One that was there every time Charles travelled and waited for him to accompany him in his discoveries. This person was called Satomi. In parallel with his travels, Charles Rosier is in business school and he chose to leave to finish his studies in Tokyo. For more than a year, he has been living in this city and has left Paris.

Almost 50 years later, he realized the reverse course of his grandparents.

Today, Charles Rosier is launching his blog to share his daily life in Japan and share with you his advice for French people wishing to put their luggage in Japan.

Discover theculture, the tourism or even the steps to expatriate to Japan.

Charles Rosier

Charles Rosier, un étudiant expatrié à Tokyo

Charles Rosier

Les origines nippones de Charles Rosier

Charles Rosier est français mais sa mère est d’origine nippone. Son grand-père est arrivé en France en 1950 pour travailler à l’Ambassade du Japon à Paris. En 1951, sa femme le rejoint et en 1954, sa mère Mai vient au monde. En 1961, la petite famille retourne brièvement à Tokyo, leur ville d’origine, avant de revenir s’installer définitivement en France en 1962.

Trente après naquit Charles Rosier. Pendant les dix premières années de sa vie, il fut bercé par les histoires de ses grands-parents qui lui racontèrent leur vie au Japon. Sa grand-mère lui préparait les fameux sushis et sashimis tandis que son grand-père l’initiait au jeu de go.

Il connaissait par cœur l’origine des geishas et des samouraïs.
C’est dans cette ambiance qu’il grandit et c’est tout naturellement qu’il se passionna pour la culture de ses grands-parents. Il étudia également la langue nippone dès l’âge de 15 ans.

Les nombreux périples de Charles Rosier au pays du Soleil Levant

Charles Rosier et sa mère entreprirent de voyager régulièrement au Japon.
Les premiers voyages ont eu pour destination principale Tokyo, ville d’origine des parents de Mai. Ils découvrirent avec éblouissement le dynamisme de la capitale nippone et la modernité de son architecture. Petit à petit, ils s’initièrent également au bouddhisme. Cette philosophie de la vie les apaisait.

A mesure qu’il grandissait, Charles voyageait de plus en plus souvent seul. Il se nourrissait de tout ce qu’il découvrait. Après Tokyo, il décida d’explorer le reste du Japon. Son premier périple en dehors de la capitale fut pour l’ascension du Mont Fuji.
Il découvrit ensuite les longues côtes du Pacifique puis les régions plus montagneuses avec leurs cultures en plateau. Au fil des années, ses voyages se faisaient de plus en plus fréquents et duraient de plus en plus longtemps.

La nouvelle vie de Charles Rosier

Au gré de ses venues au Japon, Charles Rosier avait rencontré de nombreuses personnes. Parmi elles, une se détachait. Une qui était là à chaque voyage de Charles et qui l’attendait pour l’accompagner dans ses découvertes. Cette personne s’appelait Satomi. En parallèle de ses périples, Charles Rosier est en école de commerce et il a choisi de partir terminer ses études à Tokyo. Depuis plus d’un an, il est installé dans cette ville et a quitté Paris.

C’est ainsi que, presque 50 ans après, il réalisa le cheminement inverse de ses grands-parents.

Aujourd’hui, Charles Rosier lance son blog afin de faire partager son quotidien au Japon et vous fais partager ses conseils pour les français souhaitant poser leurs bagages dans ce pays.

Découvrez la culture, le tourisme ou encore les démarches pour s’expatrier au pays du Soleil Levant.